National Parks

The main protected areas of Croatia are the eight national parks, the ten nature parks and two strict reserves. The total area of all national parks in the country is 994 km², of which 235 km² is sea surface. The most popular Croatian National Parks are Plitvice Lakes, followed by Krka, Brijuni and Paklenica. Each of the national parks is maintained by a separate institution, overseen and funded by the government ministry of nature conservation and spatial development.

National park Brijuni

The Brijuni archipelago stretches itself along the southwestern coast of the Istrian peninsula. The archipelago is composed of two large islands: Veli Brijun and Mali Brijun, and twelve smaller islands on the west coast divided by Fažanski channel-3 km of width. Because of its beauty, mild climate and Mediterranean vegetation, these islands are popular...

National park Kornati

In the central Adriatic, there is a unique Kornati archipelago, which consists of 140 uninhabited islands, islets and reefs, the most indented group of islands in the Mediterranean. It is located west of Šibenik in Šibenik-Knin County. National park was declared in 1980s and was placed under the protection because of its exceptional beauty, nature conservation...

National park Krka

The river Krka is a phenomenon which forms numerous lakes, waterfalls and rapids, and covers the area of 109km2. It rises at the foot of the Dinara mountain in the town of Knin. On 24.01.1985 because of its natural beauty and geological characteristics it was declared a national park. National park was named after the river which is a part of the park...

National park Mljet

Mljet is an island that lies northwest of Dubrovnik, it is 3 km wide and 37 km long. It is located next to the Elafiti islands separated by a 6-10 km wide channel. The western part of the island is a national park which covers an area of 5375 hectares of protected land and surrounding sea, and represents the first institutionalized attempt to protect an original...

National park North Velebit

Velebit mountain range is just one of rare and well preserved ecosystem types, which UNESCO in 1978 proclaimed as the"world biosphere reserve“. Northern Velebit is the most interesting and attractive part of Velebit. It includes strict nature reserves, Hajdučki peek and Luka's Cave, one of the deepest caves in the world and the famous Velebit...

1  |   2  
Destination: select from list choose destination
Check in: Check out: choose date choose date